Name:

Email:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or get more info before you sign up.

Kathryn's Blog

Dating Sites and Scams

Here’s a recent posting on Mark Brooks’ OnlinePersonalsWatch.com:

CHICAGO TRIBUNE’s RED EYE—Oct 24—The online dating industry has learned to cut off scammers at the pass.  Nelson Rodridguez, CEO LoveAccess, employs a full-time staff to look for suspicious behavior, like a member sending out hundreds of e-mails a day or posting the same photo on multiple profiles. The effort results in the removal of 20 to 30 profiles a day. Match (15 million users) has staffers personally review each profile and photo before posting them to the site. ~15% of profiles are rejected each month.  A security team seeks and weeds out people who compromise the user experience for others. Some dating sites simply block all IP addresses from Nigeria, said Mark Brooks, an online dating industry analyst. But with scammers changing tactics, it’s a constant game of cat-and-mouse. 419eater.com encourages people to bait scammers. Romancescam.com, posts the photos, e-mail addresses and usernames that scammers have used. The FBI hopes to tackle the problem by educating people about scams, FBI spokesman Paul Bresson said. The agency helps fund a Web site called www.looks toogoodtobetrue.com and encourages people to report scams to the Internet Fraud Complaint Center, at ic3.gov.

And my comment:

I’ve written regularly about online dating scams in my blog postings on safety http://www.find-a-sweetheart.com/blog/C15/ I used to think that scamming was very rare, but I have been hearing more and more about it lately, and not just in the press (which I tend to distrust because of it’s “If it bleeds, it leads” mentality). In particular, my clients and newsletter readers have been telling me about getting scammed themselves. I plan to get much more vocal about scamming self-protection, but I certainly am glad to read that the dating sites are actively pursuing scammers. Even Western Union (often used by scammers to transfer money) is apparently helping out: one client told me of trying to send money to an online contact through Western Union. She was thoroughly grilled about whether she was SURE that the recipient was not a scammer. Yea, Western Union!

From Your Romance Coach, Kathryn Lord

*

Comments

I have received an e-mail message on SinglesCircle .. I’ve tried to report this to them but they will not respond.. I am not a member but did post a profile.. the sender is miracle22, abidjan, ivory coast a return e-mail is listed miraclekomol_love@yahoo phone 22501718102.. they are saying they have 10 million dollars tied up and want someone to share..

Sounds like a scam to me Sandy.  Good for you for being wary.

I want to know if this women is for real? her name is Morenike Davies, email address, nifemi_01 @yahoo.com, shes from lasos nigeria, the name she gave me to send money is Bola Davis? she wants 700 dollors she sent me some beautfull pics, wow! iam thinking this is a scam? I want to be sure?

I can’t say for sure, but that sounds like a scam.  It has all the earmarks.

Kathryn

what is the $700 did she need it to come to you..If yes i dont think thats a scam she’s in need of it and think you are in best position to help her…cos i email her and she explain to me

The note from Randy sounds like it is an accomplice to the scam.  Beware and NEVER send money to someone you don’t know VERY well.

Kathryn

Katherine, i think i am in a scam.the guy jake walker spinster; .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)  i met him on usearchlocal.com he is in london eng. he says he lives in zionsville, in. yet he doesnt know what an area code is, nor does he know here in Indiana we have the 500 race in may. he will not give me an address. I called him he talks really fast. I cannot find him in the white pages in Indiana or anywhere in the usa. he wants money for an orphanage in africa. ADWOA AMOBEA P.O
.BOX TS 101 TESHTE ACCRA,GHANA SOUTH AFRICA.
  I HAVE A PHONE NUMBER OII-44-70319819992. I DO NOT WANT HIM TO KNOW I TURNED HIM IN. THANK YOU. WILL WAIT FOR A REPLY JERRI

bola davies must be a scam . I was emailing her for about three weeks and she said she live in the u.s. Then she told me she had to go to africa for business. and wouldn’t you know i received an email from her supposed lawyer saying she was arrested for having brought over 250,000 dollars to nigeria. but she couldn’t pay 400 dollars for her lawyerand needed help.ha

Bola does indeed sound like a scammer.  As does Jake Walker spinster.  Kathryn

People who use those services should be aware of the danger involved in sites like those. Awareness is what you promote here.

Hello,  I started talking to someone called Bola Davies too,  for a couple of weeks and then she went to africa with $250,000 usd and I recieved email from her lawyer and bailed her out.  I met her on a dating website and she seemed really into me, then we started writing love letters. I have sent her some money in a couple of weeks now. I want to hear from you, this is upsetting me, I really feel like I loved her,  William

This is Will again about Bola Davies,  I recieved a court document too when she was released about the money she had and it said it was in my name, I even talked to the lawyer on the phone and sent him text messages, I dont know what to do now.  She said her lawyer gave her money for a plane ticket to come home as soon as she gets out of the hospital.  If this is a scam it is really good, I even talked to a bank agent over there about it too.

Hi, I also have had contact with Bola Davies. As a matter of fact, I still do. But I also don’t know if this is real or not. But if I read all these messages I get the impression that this is a very good scammer.

As far as my contact goes, she still needs money for a court-hearing and then she will be free (at least that is what she is saying).

William can I ask you a question. It seems you are further in her contact than I am. I just want to know which name she gave as her lawyer and where you had to send the money to? If I know that and it is the same as mine, than I know for sure she is definitely a scammer (and a very good one I must say). So William, can you please help me? And perhaps I can help you with questions.

Edwin

Hello,  the lawyers name for Bola Davies is
Adunola, and his secretary that I sent money to was John Komolafe.  The lawyers email is
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)  I have lost alot of money with this because I was sucked into it.  This is a very good scam. I would like to know if your info is the same. 
Edwin, I would like to ask you what website you met her on and the profile name for her,
William

Edwin, if this is the same person that I am talking too, which I still am but Im not sending anymore money, Im just stalling.  Dont tell her(or them) that you talked to me, because they have alot of my personal info and Im worried about identity theft, Thank you,  Will

Thanks William,

Yes, this is definitely the same person. I also lost some money on her. So Bola is absolutely a scammer. There is no doubt about that. She also gave me the names of Adunola and Komolafe.

I am so sorry to hear that you have lost a lot of money and that you also gave a lot of personal information. But you don’t have to worry too much. Most of these people are just interested in making money and nothing else. I hope you never gave her any copies of your identity-cards, or bank- or creditcardnumbers.

O and to answer your question about the datingsite. I met her at lexa.nl. Lexa is the Dutch part of the Meetic-datingsites. And I don’t know anymore what profilename she used, but I thought it was just simply Bola.

So we are talking about one and the same person. I will not talk to her about you and I hope you will not talk about her about me. And now I have to find a way to get rid of her, but I will think of a way.

If you have more questions about her, I hope that I can answer them. She played this game extremely well. I even have her on MSN (.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)), but I have blocked her now.

Edwin

Wow! I never thought things would go that far. Sorry about you guys.

Yeah, right, like I will believe anything Gereldean Rucker of Indiana posts to have any truth to it.  She is an enabler for the anti-social behavior of her son Jimmy, a known drug user and seller who has served time on more than 1 occasion in the Indiana penal system.  Probably was her own son Jimmy trying to scam her.  He is a man of many failed relationships who doesn’t hold down a steady job and has scammed people for rent money over the past year so do NOT believe her tale of being a victim.

Well this is a problem, it is boring/a pity that criminals exploit people trying to find love!
I believe it is important for guides to dating sites follow up on this subject!?

Leave a Comment

Name:

Email:

Location:

URL:

Remember my personal information

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Submit the word you see below:


 

Contact Kathryn by phone at 850.878.7779, by email at kathryn@find-a-sweetheart.com

3045 Dickinson Drive, Tallahassee, FL 32311

home | kathryn's romance newsletter | test yourself | new, fun, free | facts
about kathryn and coaching | who is kathryn lord? | kathryn's own cyberromance story | what is romance coaching? | are you ready for romance coaching? | what kathryn's clients say | want to try romance coaching?
kathryn's blog | contact kathryn

 

Copyright 2003-2012 Kathryn B. Lord
    close
  Name:  
  Email:

Or get more info before you sign up.